Wmcat Honored by the White House!

As you may be aware, I am a Teaching Artist at West Michigan Center for Arts and Technology (www.wmcat.org), a fantastic after school youth program where I teach game design and development using Unreal Engine 4 and recently started teaching game programming using Python. It is hands down the most rewarding work I have ever done and I enjoy every day I go there.

Well, I can now put on my resume that Wmcat is one of the TOP 12 youth programs in the entire nation, as recognized by the Committee on the Arts and Humanities. This committee is a signature program of President Obama and the award will be presented by First Lady Michelle Obama.

I could not be more proud to be part of this award winning program and see us garner recognition on a national level!

See the press release here.

About DesignJunkie010

Since a young age, I have had a love of video games and the joy they bring to others. This lead me to pursue a degree in Digital Animation and Game Design from Ferris State University and begin teaching high school age students how to create their own games and game art in 2005. When not teaching, I continue to further my education by keeping up on recent industry news and learning best practices related to both teaching and game development. I also write learning tutorials on different topics for the Unreal game engine. I will be completing my Masters in Career Technical Education from Ferris State University in 2015. Check out my LinkedIn profile at http://www.linkedin.com/pub/justin-plowman/1b/211/7b7

Posted on November 14, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

