VR Work Update

As some of you may have seen on my Twitter feed, about 2 months ago I began a partnership with the Grand Rapids Public Museum. This multi faceted relationship began with a simple conversation. The Museum was interested in working with community partners to design a new way for teens and young adults to experience the museum content and did Wmcat want to help with that. From those conversation have grown internships for Ferris State University’s Digital Animation and Game Design students, a VR project for my Wmcat students, and curriculum for me to teach a college level VR class this summer. It’s been wonderful and I cannot stress enough the power of working with partners and getting to know people. On to the update!

As part of our partnership with GRPM, my high school students at Wmcat have set to work on designing their own 5 minute VR experience. Designed to reach their peers and get them excited about museums again, Woodcraft VR casts the player as a young apprentice furniture maker learning how to create handmade furniture during the heyday of the Furniture City (Grand Rapids MI circa 1878). Follow your Mentor’s training and build as many tables and chairs as you can in 5 minutes.

My students and I have hit a solid Alpha state after 8 weeks of work. All the content you see has been programmed, created, or recorded by the students with me lending a helping hand along the way.

The next 2 months will be used polishing the experience in preparation for the local Maker Faire in August. Then it will be on to a special Education category as part of ArtPrize in September and October. There is a lot of work ahead but the game is very fun even in its current state so I believe we are on the right track. Have a look at our early preview footage!

About DesignJunkie010

Since a young age, I have had a love of video games and the joy they bring to others. This lead me to pursue a degree in Digital Animation and Game Design from Ferris State University and begin teaching high school age students how to create their own games and game art in 2005. When not teaching, I continue to further my education by keeping up on recent industry news and learning best practices related to both teaching and game development. I also write learning tutorials on different topics for the Unreal game engine. I will be completing my Masters in Career Technical Education from Ferris State University in 2015. Check out my LinkedIn profile at http://www.linkedin.com/pub/justin-plowman/1b/211/7b7

Posted on May 24, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

